Bad Marketing and False Advertising

Posted on December 13th, 2007

Yesterday I was surfing and found the following Google ad…

I was a bit surprised that someone (a rather large competitor) was actually advertising with our name in the Ad. I immediately saw things wrong with this as a marketing person; If own businesses never ever place your competitors names in your Ads, this means you are now advertising your competitor and not just yourself. The ad only competes on price and not on anything else. If you read our Keys to Success post series you know what competing on price is a recipe for disaster and will eventually put you out of business.

Click on the ad brought me to a page where I could order the $2.99 package. When you choose the features that you want (which of course are included free in your BlueFur packages) the price jumped. Not to mention they added a $10 sign-up and you can only buy yearly. You can see the total price bellow…

 

Our smallest package the Mini Unix is $6.95 a month or $70.89 a year. As you can see the ad clearly is false advertising.

What do you think of this type of advertising?

Posted in Marketing Tips | | | Digg This | del.icio.us | Technorati


Related Topics:
Marketing 101: Why Negative Advertising is Bad
Marketing 101: Maintaining Your Brand Presence
Marketing 101: Tracking Offline Campaigns
Marketing 101: What is DAGMAR?
Marketing 101: Using CPA Campaigns

RSS feed

8 Comments

Gravatar
Comment by Nick Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-13 14:53:30

Free advertising for you! Some people are stupid enough to do that , they just want to get people to see there site.

 
Gravatar
Comment by Rock
2007-12-13 15:05:57

I don’t believe in doing negative advertising toward competitors, especially mentioning a competitors name in an ad. I would rather focus on myself and how I can advertise myself better.

Just by reading that ad I wouldn’t do business with them because it sounds sleazy and gives me a bad impression about their business.

 
Gravatar
Comment by Thinkreferrals Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-13 20:01:18

If I am surfing and get to their ad, I will say, hmmmmm, cheaper than BlueFur . . . what is this BluFur.com, maybe I should go check before I signup with these guys.

I’m glad you didn’t advertise them on this post by giving their name.

 
Gravatar
Comment by HiFi Guy Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-14 04:01:10

I think you should complain about this faker to adword

 
Gravatar
Comment by Webhosty Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-14 16:18:35

Well, I guess it’s even worse if you have these ads on your own company blog like iPowerWeb has.

Talk about a recipe for disaster!

 
Gravatar
Comment by Brad Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-19 18:06:30

I would be pretty angry if an advertiser used my URL to advertise their product.
Adword attack!

 
Gravatar
Comment by Matt Subscribed to comments via email
2007-12-19 22:03:29

If you own the trademark for “BlueFur”, you can email Google and they’ll stop displaying sponsered links with your trademark in it…

Gravatar
Comment by blogadmin
2007-12-19 22:04:26

Trademark paperwork is already being worked on.

 
 

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

© 2007 BlueFur Hosting | Privacy Policy
Theme by Unique Blog Designs